[Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post Reply
Reactions: 8
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 17:23

[Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by d3nd3 »

Note:
Requires either ref_hd.dll, enabled with +set vid_ref hd
OR
Use SoF buddy.

Instructions:
* Install sof buddy, look at readme from github url. (So to enable sof_buddy, you must run the .cmd file set_sofplus_and_buddy_sof.cmd as a one-time patch to the sof.exe)
* Put the hd .pak file into your sof base directory.

Updated: 14/02/2024
  • Fixed ugly textures that looked worse than original
  • Fixed static on television
  • Used BSRGAN model in places where it out-performed esrgan+
  • Fixed sky
  • Manually hand-selected every texture from 3 models
  • Use sof_buddy to enable hd texture support
Credits:
Raven artwork.
ESRGAN https://github.com/xinntao/Real-ESRGAN
BSRGAN https://github.com/cszn/BSRGAN
Me/d3nd3
Acadie
Keifer
-------------------------------------------------------
------------------------NEW-------------------------
---Recommended SoF buddy---

https://github.com/d3nd3/sof_buddy/releases
---Recommended TEXTURES .pak version (2024)---
https://drive.google.com/file/d/10jjV4Z ... sp=sharing

-------------------------------------------------------
------------------------OLD----------------------------
---ref_hd.dll---

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1B-N4Q3 ... sp=sharing
---NOT recommended TEXTURES .pak version (2023)---
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1AQorU ... p=drive_fs
Attachments
2024-02-14_184044_413.png
2024-02-14_183913_666.png
2024-02-14_183652_381.png
2024-02-14_183459_508.png
2024-02-14_183249_760.png
2024-02-14_183120_643.png
2024-02-14_182926_104.png
2024-02-14_182541_974.png
2024-02-14_175429_430.png
2024-02-14_173919_768.png
2024-02-14_173424_800.png
2024-02-14_172758_419.png
Last edited by d3nd3 on 24 Feb 2024, 20:30, edited 14 times in total.
Reactions: 3
Posts: 448
Joined: 31 Jan 2013, 00:30

Re: [Release]HD Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by TotalitioN »

This is awesome !
Reactions: 0
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 May 2023, 21:00
Location: locked in the basement

Re: [Release]HD Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by oldsch00l »

nice job!
Reactions: 2
Posts: 56
Joined: 13 Apr 2019, 08:18

Re: [Release]HD Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by Grim »

when I first loaded the game, I was scared by a different texture in the menu. :D

but i have to agree. great thing

- However, in the OSD where I have FPS, sometimes the text becomes bold and then back. It repeats like this in 15sec intervals.

hopefully it won't drop FPS like with QFX ( SOFPLUS )
I am
I am
Reactions: 7
Posts: 297
Joined: 07 Aug 2021, 23:29

Re: [Release]HD Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by bobby00 »

Grim wrote: 24 Jun 2023, 20:20 when I first loaded the game, I was scared by a different texture in the menu. :D

but i have to agree. great thing

- However, in the OSD where I have FPS, sometimes the text becomes bold and then back. It repeats like this in 15sec intervals.

hopefully it won't drop FPS like with QFX ( SOFPLUS )
:clap:
Reactions: 0
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Oct 2023, 18:14

Re: [Release]HD Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by Father »

This mod looks great, installing it seems simple but somehow i am not able to get the textures like you. There is a signifciant difference,something seems way off. Textures look like they are somehow enlarged i think, like they don't fit. I use SOF 1 CE 7.0 and installed this mod on clean install, but the effect is weird and i have no idea why. I tried some combinations since the one from readme didn't work for me but to no avail, but really i went back to SOF from years of not playing and to be honest can't pinpoint what is the problem. I can't post screenshots though, getting HTTP error. But if it's allowed here are screenshots:
Anybody able to help?

PS:
So i fixed the problem, i have been looking through some options, did some "reverse enginering" i guess, but long story short - no idea why in config.cfg file located in SoldierofFortune/User folder i just started to look for the options vid_ref_hd, this is a config file with custom options that is created once you change binds etc etc.
So i found a line named set vid_ref "gl" changed it to set vid_ref "hd".
That was the reasons textures didn't load properly, that config file somehow came first. I think it was maybe because i was changing video driver configs to see which one looks best before installing the mod to see which one looks best so that change was written to that file.
Now the mod works. :acad:
Last edited by Father on 16 Oct 2023, 21:57, edited 2 times in total.
Reactions: 8
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 17:23

Re: [Release]HD Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by d3nd3 »

Hi, thanks for showing interest.

The autoexec.cfg provided should be setting the "vid_ref" cvar for you when you launch SoF. Since this is not the case for you, I think you have not put the autoexec.cfg provided into your base folder.

If you do not want to put the autoexec into your base folder, or that you did and its another bug. I would recommend to launch your sof with "SoF.exe +set vid_ref hd". Or simply manually type into console yourself: "vid_ref hd" to enable hd mode and "vid_ref gl" to reset to default. Keep in mind this is like enabling and disabling mod, so teamicon widescreen position fix also gets disabled. It also doesn't disable "hd" because the hd textures .pak files are still loaded. You would have to move them out of the base directory or use a different base directory to efficiently switch between hd and sd mode.

Also, the ref_hd.dll has to be inside the folder which also contains the SoF.exe. It should sit alongside it.

These instructions are in the README, but the README can be improved, its layout is bad.
Reactions: 0
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 Oct 2023, 18:14

Re: [Release]HD Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by Father »

Now i just wonder if there is a way to fix such things like TV's. Or maybe i stil got something wrong. Some TV's don't render properly, specifically the ones that were supposed to have video noise on them.
Reactions: 8
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 17:23

Re: [Release]HD Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by d3nd3 »

Bump, 2024 version released, much improved.
Reactions: 2
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Feb 2024, 10:36

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by kmd10 »

How lucky of me. After all these years I got the Soldier of Fortune GOG edition and got ready to play the game. Again. So much fun. And a week later this texture pack gets released. I'm about mid-game progress but I'm willing to restart just to enjoy the new visual aspect.

At first I thought I was doing something wrong. Not strange at all given the sofhd_2024.7z file doesn't have any .txt files and this thread doesn't explain what to do. There's no instructions.
But after a moment I read the other comments in here and tried the older sofhd_2023.7z, fishing for info. So I moved both files (pak and cfg) from the 2024 texture pack to "{install_folder}\base" folder.

I've been using SoF Plus and I don't know if this texture pack works well with SoF Buddy, but all I get is this error:
Image
If I try again it says:
Image
If I try again I get the first error again.

It doesn't matter if I'm using Sof Plus or not: If I reinstall the game and don't use Sof Plus I get the same error.
If I move autoexec.cfg to {install_folder} it's the same.

Some extra info: Windows 10 21H2, admin account. The SOF path has spaces in it, maybe that's a problem.

BTW, after trying for a while, sofhd_2023.7z works OK. That's good. Maybe it's a problem with SoF Buddy. I'm using Release 17.

So, any ideas. Thanks!

Edited: After trying with SoF Buddy Release 15 (there's not 16 to download) I can only get the "Corrupt temp file, deleted, try again" message. Every time.
Last edited by kmd10 on 24 Feb 2024, 11:13, edited 4 times in total.
Reactions: 8
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 17:23

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by d3nd3 »

Thanks for reporting this, I have attempted to fix sof buddy, it was a permission error writing to temp directory, ( it copies spcl.dll to temp path for the timer improvement code ). Should work now for release 18.

Regarding instructions, there really isn't any anymore, just ensure that the .pak file is in your base directory.

Oh and activating sof_buddy requires running:
So to enable sof_buddy, you must run the .cmd file set_sofplus_and_buddy_sof.cmd.

This is mentioning on the sof_buddy readme page at github.
Reactions: 8
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 17:23

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by d3nd3 »

Release 19 supports multiple instance of sof.exe to open too.
To check that sof_buddy is active, you can open the console with escape key in menu.
And type _sofbuddy_classic
If it returns a number , then that cvar exists and prooves sof_buddy is loaded.
Reactions: 2
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Feb 2024, 10:36

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by kmd10 »

Thank you for answering so quick.
I've tried again with release 19 of SoF Buddy and I got 2 new error messages:

Image
The text in spanish translates as: "The parameter is not correct".

And if I try again it shows this:
Image

I've tested with and without the "user" folder, just in case I had some setting that didn't fit. No changes.
The game won't start either way.
Last edited by kmd10 on 25 Feb 2024, 10:51, edited 1 time in total.
Reactions: 8
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 17:23

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by d3nd3 »

try Release 20
Reactions: 2
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Feb 2024, 10:36

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by kmd10 »

Great. Now it works. Thanks a lot!

I think I may found some missing textures at the beginning of the game (during the intro with the camera travelling), on the pavement. And at the New York level, the doors are completely black too. Don't know if I need to tweak any setting.
Reactions: 8
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 17:23

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by d3nd3 »

Would you be able to screenshot them? (F11 is for screenshot)
I'm not sure which ones you mean exactly.

Also, which GPU are you using?
Reactions: 2
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Feb 2024, 10:36

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by kmd10 »

Now that I have it all captured I think there's something wrong with some setting. Everything's messed up.
See for yourself: https://imgur.com/a/I9ZBuS1
I'm using an Nvidia 1080 Ti video card.

Edited: Ok, I'm a dummy. When I was testing I reinstalled and deleted files, and forgot to add again the autoexec.cfg. Now it's where it should be and looks great.
Sorry, false alarm.
Reactions: 8
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Dec 2011, 17:23

Re: [Release]HD 4x Upscaled Texture Pack using ESRGAN

Post by d3nd3 »

ye probably some clash with vid_ref cvar and sof buddy.
Default value for vid_ref is "gl", for when you use sof buddy.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests